Here is a listing of websites that may be of interest to Tofino locals.  If you have suggestions of other sites that should be added to this list, please contact me (no business or for-profit listings please).

News

The Westcoaster Newspaper www.westcoaster.ca

The Westerly Newspaper http://www2.canada.com/westerly/index.html

Weather

Tofino 7-day forecast http://text.weatheroffice.gc.ca/forecast/city_e.html?bc-17&unit=m

Marine forecast http://text.weatheroffice.gc.ca/marine/forecast_e.html?mapID=02&siteID=16200

Live Cox Bay webcam http://www.longbeachlodgeresort.com/site/video/cox_bay_tofino_webcam.html

Community

TofinoTime Magazine www.tofinotime.com
Monthly print magazine, with articles and photos by local writers as well as comprehensive event listings, tide tables, and more.

The Heart of Tofino www.theheartoftofino.com
Tofino author Adrienne Mason “getting at the heart of what makes Tough City tick.”

“True” Tofino News www.truetofinonews.com
I have second thoughts about linking to these guys at all: anonymous complainers who don’t see much good around here (and can’t get it around their heads that boulders are put on bike path entrances to keep cars off – i.e. to protect bikers!) But maybe we can encourage them to actually stop hiding and stand up for what they say; right now this site is a bit of an embarassment to any idea of “community”.  Or to just delete the site.

(Truer) Tofino News http://tofinonews.blogspot.com/
This one is definitely way “truer” than the previous one – Ralph Tieleman keeps us posted on political issues that affect us here in town, especially relating to council briefs and decisions.

Events

Peace Day Tofino, September 21 2009 http://www.peacedaytofino.com

Clayoquot Oyster Festival, November 19-21 2009 http://www.oystergala.com

Arts and Entertainment

Pacific Rim Arts Society http://pacificrimarts.ca

Clayoquot Sound Community Theatre www.tofinomovies.blogspot.com

Clayoquot Writers Group http://clayoquotwriters.wordpress.com

Resources

BC Hydro Power Outage Info www.bchydro.com/outages/orsMapView.jsp?region=IslandNorth

Community Futures Alberni Clayoquot www.cfac.ca

District of Tofino www.tofino.ca

Federal MP James Lunney www.jameslunneymp.ca

Provincial MLA Scott Fraser www.scottfrasermla.com

Tofino Business Association www.tofinobusiness.com

Tofino Branch, Vancouver Island Library http://www.virl.bc.ca/pages/index_e.aspx?ArticleID=240

Tofino Long Beach Chamber of Commerce www.tofinochamber.org

Tourism Tofino www.tourismtofino.com

West Coast Vancouver Island Aquatic Management Board www.westcoastaquatic.ca

Travel

Regional Bus schedule to Nanaimo, Vancouver, Victoria
Local Beach Bus schedule (May to October)
Tofino Transit schedule (July to September)

Tofino Rideshare share a ride! (May to October)

BC Ferries schedule

Highway conditions www.drivebc.ca
Highway cam Port Alberni Summit

Local non-profits

Boat Basin Foundation (Cougar Annie’s Garden)
www.boatbasin.org

Clayoquot Biosphere Trust www.clayoquotbiosphere.org

Central Westcoast Forest Society
www.clayoquot.org

Friends of Clayoquot Sound
www.focs.ca

Pacific Rim Hospice Society www.pacificrimhospice.ca

Raincoast Education Society www.raincoasteducation.org

Strawberry Island Marine Research Society www.buildawhale.wordpress.com

Tofino Botanical Gardens Foundation www.tbgf.org

First Nations

Nuu-chah-nulth Tribal Council www.nuuchahnulth.org

Nuu-chah-nulth Economic Development Board www.nedc.info

Advertisements